MY FIRST MOTHER’S DAY

As I made my routine Mother’s Day phone calls this morning, I actually forgot that Mother’s Day is actually my day too now that my little girl is in my life.

It’s my first Mother’s Day and I don’t even know what to think. It took me a while before it hit me. But then I took some time to reflect about the women in my life, about the precious gift I had been given 3 months ago and about what it all meant.

Like most girls, I’ve had my fair share of ups and downs with the women in my life as I’ve grown up. Of course, I always loved them, but there were definitely times when I didn’t like them or understand the decisions they made. At 18 years-old, I decided that I was moving halfway across the ocean to pursue a new life. I was by no means leaving behind the life I lead up until that point, but I felt a calling to live in Israel and I chose to pursue it. As they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder. I don’t know if it was the distance, the fact that I was growing up and had some more perspective and maturity under my belt, or now that I am a mother myself, but as time has progressed I have come to have nothing but love and admiration for the women in my life.

I know that girls tend to say about their mothers, “If I am only half of what you were to me I will be a very lucky woman.” That is the understatement of the year. The women in my life have gone above and beyond to educate me, protect me, and love me.

It’s crazy to think that you literally grow this little person inside of you for 9 (or 10) months and all of sudden in a matter of moments you’re a mother. Motherhood so far has not been without its fair share of struggles and challenges as I learn to adjust to my new normal. But there is nothing in this world I wouldn’t do for that little girl. I am so incredibly grateful for this little person I’ve been blessed with, so incredibly scared that I won’t do right by her, but mostly so incredibly filled with love for my little girl, my mother and all my surrogate mothers.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mamas out there! Would love to know some of your favourite memories with your mom or with your kids.

Until next time…

signature

Leave a Reply

