New Years Thoughts

I have to be honest, New Years for me doesn’t really hold much significance. My New Years eve was the definition of #momlife. Ira was working late, Avital was sleeping like an angel in her room and I didn’t even realize that midnight has passed.

I took a 6-month hiatus from this blog, partly because I just needed to take time to re-evaluate. If you’ve been following me, you’ll know that almost a year ago I gave birth to our little girl, Avital. We had been living in a new community that I was still adjusting to, setting up our new home and now I had to adjust to this shift as well. Every time I thought I was getting a hang of this parenting thing, Avital would go ahead and develop a new skill. I finally feel like I can handle whatever she decides to throw at me. (We’ll see how well I fair when she starts walking and climbing on furniture.) And now that I feel like I have a handle on that, I want to take time to set some new goals for myself. Like I said, New Years is kind of meaningless for me, but I guess January 1st is as good a time as any to set some new goals for myself.

Be Consistent : I go through phases in my life where I go crazy and do something in excess, and then overwhelm myself and give up. This goes for cleaning, maintaining Avital’s schedule, cooking, etc. In the new year, I want to try to develop routines for myself that can be maintained.

Me Time : As women and as mothers, it’s so easy to put ourselves last. We’re so busy trying to be the best wife, the best mother, the best friend, the best sister, the best, the best, the best… that we often forget to leave time for ourselves. I have gotten back into the habit of reading and have actually finished a lot of books in the past month – I forgot how much I loved it! In theory, I know that taking time for myself will only benefit those around me, but it’s harder in practice. I want to take time to do some small things each day for me – to get dressed every morning instead of declaring every day a ‘PJ Day’, to put on some makeup, straighten my hair. Just little things that I do for no one else, but me.

Get Creative : As Avital is growing and developing, I want to create memories that will last her a lifetime. Mind you, she’s only 11-months old, but now’s as good a time as any. I want to start getting creative in the way I play with her, take her on outings and let her discover the world beyond the walls of our home. Years down the road from now, I’m probably not going to remember how many loads of laundry I did on a particular day, but I’m sure I’ll remember the look on her face the first time I take her to the zoo.

I am limiting myself to only three goals for this year, as I’ve learned from experience that setting too many goals is setting myself up for failure. My plan is to check back every month or two and see how I’m progressing.

I would love to know what goals or resolutions you have for the New Year, if you care to share below in the comments.

Until next time…

signature

Leave a Reply

